EUROMOD analysis of economic and social policies in European Commission Country Reports

New analysis of the socio-economic policies of 10 European countries, using EUROMOD, has been published as part of the annual cycle of reports by the European Commission.

New analysis using EUROMOD has been published as part of the annual cycle of country reports by the European Commission.

The Commission publishes a series of country reports for each Member State, analysing their economic and social policies. It then provides EU governments with country-specific recommendations for the next 12-18 months. EUROMOD has been used to assess the impact of policies in 10 different countries in the 2017 European Semester country reports. The ten countries are Denmark, Spain, France, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Austria, Poland, Slovenia and Sweden.

The European Semester provides a framework for the coordination of economic policies between the countries of the European Union. It allows the EU member countries to discuss their economic and budget plans and monitor progress at specific times throughout the year.

Professor Holly Sutherland, Director of EUROMOD, University of Essex, said: “It is very gratifying to see our work being used to improve the evidence base in the formal process for assessing the effects of policies in Europe, and ultimately to contribute to better policymaking.”

The 2017 Country Reports are available here.

Marianne Thyssen, European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility, congratulates EUROMOD on its 20th anniversary and explains the value of the model to the evaluation of socio-economic policies of the members states as part of the European Semester in this short film clip